RSS

AN EVER CHANGING WORLD

21 May

Have you ever thought about how much  life has changed over the past 30 years? Do you know how  your parents spent their free time when they were your age? They had neither a PC nor a mobile phone. Hanging out with friends was real, not virtual.

Thirty years ago, Time Magazine named ‘The Computer’ its person of the year. Back then an average person didn’t even know what a computer can do. Below is the photo of the cover of that particular issue.

machine of the year

And here you can see what the first mobile phones looked like back in 1982:

motorola DynaTAC 8000X 1983

Nowadays life is changing even faster than in previous 30 years. It is not easy to keep up with all new inventions and gadgets that pop up every day.

Watch the video ‘Did you know’  I posted in September and answer these questions:

1. How do you feel about these changes? Do you find them thrilling or frightening?

2. Does the need for continual education and professional development scare you?

3. Do your teachers use new technologies in their teaching practice as much as they should?

4. Do you think school can prepare you for new challenges you are going to face?

5. Can you imagine what your children’s life would be like ? How much will it be different from yours?

By the way, if you want to see a satirical prediction of life without paper books, I suggest you see the film ‘The last bookshop’. Here’s the  link http://youtu.be/jPfThpelv48.

And for those who never seem to find the time to watch a video without translation, here’s a cartoon on the same topic.

book

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2013 in miscellaneous

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “AN EVER CHANGING WORLD

  1. learn italian online free

    May 22, 2013 at 9:18 am

    First of all I would like to say fantastic blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.

    I’ve had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Many thanks!

    Like

     
    • phsourenglishnook

      May 22, 2013 at 10:32 am

      Thanks for the compliment!🙂
      As for writing, I don’t find it easy either. I usually write two or three drafts. I always have to be careful about the language I use so that my students can understand it. When I’m satisfied with it, then I publish the post.
      I believe one should take the following steps: the main idea, the aim, the target audience, and, finally, the best possible layout. In other words, first you have to figure out what you are going to write and why; to what purpose; who it is for; and then, how to convey the message, i.e. the length and the language you are going to use.
      I hope this helps.
      Best regards,
      Gordana

      Like

       
  2. graphic novels

    May 27, 2013 at 9:58 am

    Thank you for a fantastic bit on comic books and graphic novels and even though I may not go along with you 100 percent, your main items are nicely received upon review. It requires a lot of time and effort to create good ideas but the simple truth is, additionally, it requires a lot of time and work to create poor ones also.| Its always nice to obtain some good information on graphic novels and comic books from someone elses point of view. I’ve passed this post on https://phsourenglishnook.wordpress.com/2013/05/21/an-ever-changing-world/ at Digg.com so my pals can see it also. I simply used AN EVER CHANGING WORLD | phs our english nook for the blog heading as the bookmark, because I suspected if it is well enough as the heading on your blog site post that, then you most likely wish to have it saved to bookmarks the same way.

    Like

     
    • phsourenglishnook

      May 27, 2013 at 2:03 pm

      Thank you for the comment and for spreading the word about my post.
      Best regards,
      Gordana

      Like

       
  3. learn american english online

    May 29, 2013 at 11:38 am

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome site!

    Like

     
    • phsourenglishnook

      May 29, 2013 at 1:19 pm

      Thanks for the compliments. I don’t mind guest writing on my blog as long as I have the right of approval.🙂

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
Moje crtice

Kad prsti zasvrbe

Blogdan

Here unreal things and unreal people get a real shape. And vice versa.

vickypapageorgiou

A great WordPress.com site

My Mathima

teaching English in and out of the classroom

elt planning

TEFL tips, ideas and thoughts from a developing teacher

User Generated Education

Education as it should be - passion-based.

English with a Twist

Succeed in Business with English

Eugenia Loras

Our Experiences in Parenting, Teaching and Business

Adrian Underhill's Pronunciation Site

Practical Discovery of English Pronunciation

Learner as Teacher

Reflections on teaching and learning

English smart start

mesto gde učenje engleskog postaje zabavno

Evelyn Izquierdo

Welcome to my e-portfolio, blogging & curating space!

Из пера једног наставника

Боље је писати за себе и немати публику, него писати за публику и немати себе

Independent English

Helping you find new ways to improve your English

Elt sustainable

English Language Teaching gets eco-friendly

Vicky Loras's Blog

A Blog About Education

Blog jednog nastavnika građevinca

Razne, nadam se korisne, stvari vezane za rad u školi

The (De-)Fossilization Diaries

A language teacher tries to crank up his Spanish

TeachingEnglishNotes

This blog is about teaching English to adults, different tricks, ways and experiences

ROSE BARD - Teaching Journal

“The more radical the person is, the more fully he or she enters into reality so that, knowing it better, he or she can transform it. This individual is not afraid to confront, to listen, to see the world unveiled.― Paulo Freire

Creativities

Creative writing activities and ideas for the EFL/ESL classroom

